testing tt systems

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paul copeman

Reaction score
hi

i have been doing testing for a few years but always in town on TNCS or TNS systems

receently i have started working for a company that tests pubs and i have beeen going out into the sticks and had a few tt systems to test

what i wanna know is how to get figures for r1+r2 as when i test in the normal way i.e extremety of circuit i gat a unexpectedly large reading

for example 3ohms and above fo a small ring when i am expecting to find more like 0.5ohms

my firm has told me to just get the Zs for each circuit and LIM the r1+r2 but i wanna do it properly

someone mentioned linking the neutral and earth together but not sure if thats how to overcome this problem

any help appreciated

paul

How do you test r1+r2??

What does this test and shod the earth system effect the reading??

I take it you do not have your 2400, sorry just remembered its now 2391 with variations to suit!

You are right in wanting to do it properly, there are no short cuts to testing, its experiance that allows you to know what is going on, as with all testing. Interpretations of results is an art, and gained by repetative testing. All you have to remember is to follow the guidlines, BS7671, and if you are never sure read up on the allowed maximum results for any installation. Whatever you do, do not let those who are not qualified to test tell you what to do.

R1R2 will always be the same regardless of earthing type. if you have a higher than normal R1R2 then you have a fault, or a badly designed circuit

Zs will usually be higher though

im not saying 3 ohms overall im saying 3 ohms on top of the 100 or so i get for the Ze