the difference betwwen Industrial and domestic

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blue Fox

Reaction score
is HUGE. I've worked as an industrial electrician since I was 16 doing my apprentiship in the factory of one of the big car manufacturers and have since then worked for several very big companies as an electrician working on both the site electrics and the machines, but am now trying to set myself up doing domestic self employed (starting part time) and the difference is massive. The paperwork required in domestic work especially with part p assesment is more than I have ever seen before. As an industrial electrician I can pull any fuse I want without question and as I did my high voltage authorised person can switch any high voltage switch I want and have switched up to 11Kv quite a few times BUT I can't pull out a suppliers fuse?? When working in a factory I would wire wha I wanted do a fuse tests and turn it on and that was that, no certs or anything just filled out the relevant jobsheet or timesheet etc. I've never used fused leads and have never seen them used by a site electrician with a multi meter in industrial work but you must use them for domestic work, however when speaking to domestic electricians I mention always standing on a rubber mat (which has been pretty much standard in the factories I've worked in) people look at me like I've got a second head!

I think electrically industrial work is much more complicated but paperwork wise I think domestic is far far harder and with a much greater responsibilty in many ways.

What do others who have or do both think?

The other thing I have found is getting cables round a house is an art which I'm still learning as in an industrial site you tend to just put some conduait or trunking on the wall but people don't seem to like galvanised trunking in the kitchen!!