Emergency lighting circuits!

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hoppy

Reaction score
Hi,

I am trying to teach myself how to wire and connect emergency light circuits. The guy I work with is not really interested in explaining things properly, so I am asking the forum for some knowledge (as I am a trainee still).

I know some of the basics, but just wondered how you guys wire your emergency light circuits from the board to a key switch and then to the lights.

I was told that you take a feed from the DB to the key switch common, then from the key switch common loop out to the lights (in our case we use a lot of klick boxes). The perm feed to the emergency light battery comes from L1 on the key switch.

I was told this was because the testing of an emergency light should not actually turn the light off so it is in emergency mode, but the light should remain fully on.

Is this correct and are there any other methods of wiring?

Also how do you guys wire lighting circuits containg key switches in say various rooms next to the light switch?

Hope this is clear.

I apologise if this is a basic question, but i would really like to get to grips with this.

Thanks

Craig

I wouldn't wire it from the DB on a separate circuit as the emergency circuit could stay energised while the local lights are dead. Always feed emergency lights from the local circuit.

As for wiring them though keyswitches on a grid switch in each room, depends on the wiring methods used, but basically all you're doing is looping a live feed through the keyswitch to the emergency as you would a normal 1 way light switch and fitting.

I did a PIR at our village hall recently and this is how it was wired: