Help with spur socket in newly bought house - can I use it?

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lt_ox_22

Reaction score
Hi there,

I just moved into a new house and I'm assessing the positions/availability of different sockets in the different rooms. In the living room I found the box you can see in the attached picture and when I opened it I found a wiring that suggests to me that this is an unused spur? Could I just use this for a new double plug socket? I have some experience with adding new sockets, but I'm wondering why the previous owner would have not done this already, hence I'm asking you if I'm missing something obvious here.

Many thanks for your help!

Attachments

• box_open.jpeg
    box_open.jpeg
    4.1 MB · Views: 0
  • box_living_room.jpeg
    box_living_room.jpeg
    3 MB · Views: 0
Hum, my guess it’s blanked off for a reason but if you’ve got a spare socket the n

Turn off entire consumer unit / fuseboard
Fit socket
Turn power back on
Plug in a light or similar to see if it’s live

Thanks Murdoch! Actually I checked with a non-contact voltage checker pen and it does seem to be live - that's why I kept wondering why it was blanked off :unsure:

As above but I would strongly recommend you get it tested to verify all is as it should be.

Thanks @Fleeting, could you clarify what you mean with "get it tested to verify all is as it should be"? What type of testing?

Thanks Murdoch! Actually I checked with a non-contact voltage checker pen and it does seem to be live - that's why I kept wondering why it was blanked off :unsure:
trouble with those detectors is that they can also detect votages induced in cables that may not be an actual mains supply.