exam puzzle

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ianiow

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am a 3rd year student and have been set a fault finding problem. The answer is probably glaringly obvious, but my poor overworked brain is not seeing it.

Circuit:- Loop in lighting circuit with a two way switch.

Info:- A nail was hammered into a wall and the lights went bang.

My test results:-

Continuity at the ceiling rose, PN PE NE all fine, but with PE and NE the continuity is not cut off when the light switches are pressed.

Insulation Resistance, PN PE NE all fine (>2Mohms) but PN and NE readings are not switched off when the switch is flicked.

On hearing about the nail thing I thought it would be an Insulation failure. But my results look more like a polarity issue between the live wires in the switch cable.

The answer I intend to give is that "the nail has damaged the cable between the ceiling rose and the first switch, causing crossed polarity between the live switch conductors". But i am not confident!

:C any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

Ian

Have you done Ins res tests on all switch wires to earth?

Dont forget you need to switch both switches to test both sides of 2way switch circuit

Hi guys,I am a 3rd year student and have been set a fault finding problem. The answer is probably glaringly obvious, but my poor overworked brain is not seeing it.

Circuit:- Loop in lighting circuit with a two way switch.

Info:- A nail was hammered into a wall and the lights went bang.

My test results:-

Continuity at the ceiling rose, PN PE NE all fine, but with PE and NE the continuity is not cut off when the light switches are pressed.

Insulation Resistance, PN PE NE all fine (>2Mohms) but PN and NE readings are not switched off when the switch is flicked.