Electricity At Work Regs

Talk Electrician Forum

Help Support Talk Electrician Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the doctor

Part P Doctor ™
Reaction score
Hi all

it has been a long time but here goes....let me give you an imaginary scenario...

I am a pv inspector and have visited a job for passing off.

the house has two consumer units fed from two one way units in the meter cupboard.

the pv is connected into the upstairs unit and is a good job.

the downstairs consumer unit has an information schematic fixed next to it and has two blanks missing  so no basic protection. Yes 20p worth of blanks...

am I wrong to snag this. The electrician says he never worked on the downstairs board though he was right next to it...

my view is that the eawr places a duty upon him to do something about a clear and obvious risk to people wether he was on it or not...

who is right here ? Can forum members help me out here please. 

The doctor

If he's not worked on the board or circuits served by the board then I'd give him the benefit........having said that I would have let him know, if he'd been working for me he'd have gained a thick ear....A couple of blank is nothing to do as a feel good extra.

A requirement under law to remove obvious danger?

i am reading the eawr and it talks of....

being in control of a situation and reasonably practicable..... My view is that if you see a great danger, you are obliged to not look the other way..... I am searching for that now but need guidance...

Hi M107,

as I said the electrician put a schematic next to the board in question.... So he was sort of working on it

I suppose anybody with a modicum of intelligence would plonk a couple of blanks in.